#ZWC 2016 Conference Social Media Guide

Metro Vancouver Chair Greg Moore and Scott Hamlin of Looptworks were interviewed on Roundhouse Radio this week. Hear what they had to say about the conference, zero waste, and the circular economy.

Zero Waste Conference

Looking to share your Zero Waste Conference experience via Twitter? Remember to use the event hashtag #ZWC2016. Want to highlight a conference participant in your social media posts? Here are Twitter handles for the organizations, speakers, and panellists participating this year’s event:

Conference Host

Malcolm Brodie
Chair, Metro Vancouver Zero Waste Committee
Chair, National Zero Waste Council
@malcolmbrodie http://www.twitter.com/malcolmbrodie
@nzwcouncil http://www.twitter.com/nzwcouncil

Metro Vancouver Twitter
@MetroVancouver http://www.twitter.com/MetroVancouver

Metro Vancouver Facebook

Event hashtag

Welcoming/Opening Remarks

Jonathan Wilkinson MP
Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Environment and Climate Change
Representing Prime Minister of Canada Justin Trudeau
@JonathanWNV http://www.twitter.com/JonathanWNV

Jordan Sturdy
Parliamentary Secretary for Energy Literacy and the Environment
to the Minister of Environment of British Columbia
@jordansturdy http://twitter.com/jordansturdy

Jim McKay
General Manager of Solid Waste Management Services, City of Toronto
@jim_mckay https://twitter.com/jim_mckay

Greg Moore
Chair, Metro Vancouver Board of Directors
@Gregmooredotca http://www.twitter.com/Gregmooredotca

Opening Keynote: Design by nature, revolutionary innovation at the edge

Neri Oxman
Architect and Designer
@NeriOxman http://www.twitter.com/NeriOxman

MIT Media Lab
@medialab http://www.twitter.com/medialab


Kathryn Gretsinger
Journalist and Professor
@kgretsinger http://www.twitter.com/kgretsinger

Innovation in the Marketplace

Eben Bayer
CEO & Co-Founder, Ecovative
@ecovative http://www.twitter.com/ecovative

John Ortiz
Director, Product Stewardship, HP
@johnort87 http://www.twitter.com/johnort87
@HP http://www.twitter.com/HP

Scott Hamlin
Co-Founder, Looptworks
@looptscott http://www.twitter.com/looptscott

Tim Brooks
VP Corporate Responsibility, LEGO Group
@LEGO_Group http://www.twitter.com/LEGO_Group


Stephanie Bertels
Director, Centre for Corporate Governance & Sustainability, Beedie School of Business
@sbertels http://www.twitter.com/sbertels

Food Waste – A call for national action

Malcolm Brodie
Chair National Zero Waste Council
@nzwcouncil http://www.twitter.com/nzwcouncil

Toine Timmermans
Program Manager, Sustainable Food Chains, Wageningen University, and Coordinator,
EU Fusions: Food Use for Social Innovation by Optimising Waste Prevention Strategies (The Netherlands)
@ToineTimmermans http://www.twitter.com/ToineTimmermans

Scott Tudor
Director of Sustainability, Sobeys, and Representative, Consumer Goods Forum
@sobeys http://www.twitter.com/sobeys

Bob Long
Councillor, Langley Township
Federation of Canadian Municipalities, NZWC Board Member
@LangleyTownship http://www.twitter.com/LangleyTownship

Darby Hoover
Senior Food & Agriculture Specialist, Natural Resource Defense Council
@NRDC http://www.twitter.com/NRDC

John Lillard
R&D Project Leader, Innovation Team, Campbell Company of Canada
@campbellcanada http://www.twitter.com/campbellcanada


Greg Moore
Chair, Metro Vancouver Board of Directors
@Gregmooredotca http://www.twitter.com/Gregmooredotca

Open IDEO Food Waste Challenge

Matthew Ridenour
Partnerships & Community Designer, IDEO
@matthewridenour http://www.twitter.com/matthewridenour @OpenIDEO http://www.twitter.com/OpenIDEO

Repair and Reuse – Challenging obsolescence through design + behaviour change

Tony Shumpert
Vice President, Recycling and Reuse, Value Village, and Circular Economy Working Group Member, National Zero Waste Council
@SaversVVillage http://www.twitter.com/SaversVVillage

Michal Len, Director, RREUSE (EU)
@rreuse_brussels http://www.twitter.com/rreuse_brussels

Ryan Dyment
Executive Director, Institute for a Resource-Based Economy
@TheSharingDepot http://www.twitter.com/TheSharingDepot

Shelagh Kerr
President and CEO, Electronics Product Stewardship Canada


Vanessa Timmer
Co-Founder and Executive Director, One Earth and Board Member, National Zero Waste Council
@vanessatimmer http://www.twitter.com/vanessatimmer
@oneearthweb http://www.twitter.com/oneearthweb

Tribute to Our Friend Bing Thom

Bing Thom Architects
@BTArchitects http://www.twitter.com/BTArchitects

The Built Environment

Clint Undseth
Vice President, Innovation, Stuart Olson Inc.
@cundseth http://www.twitter.com/cundseth
@StuartOlsonInc http://www.twitter.com/StuartOlsonInc

Sudhir Suri
Senior Architect & Partner, L’OEUF Architects

Josh Taron
Professor, Co-Leader of the Laboratory for Integrative Design, University of Calgary and Principal, Synthetiques
@ucalgaryevds http://www.twitter.com/ucalgaryevds


Trevor Boddy
critic and curator of contemporary architecture
@trevboddy http://www.twitter.com/trevboddy

Special Announcements

The Honourable Joyce Murray
Parliamentary Secretary to the President of the Treasury Board,
Government of Canada’s commitment to a cleaner and more sustainable economy
@joycemurray https://twitter.com/joycemurray

Edward Schwarz
General Manager of the LafargeHolcim Foundation
@lafargeholcim http://www.twitter.com/lafargeholcim

Closing Keynote: Circular Innovation and Business Leadership in the Netherlands

Owen Zachariasse
Innovation and Sustainability, Delta Development Group
@OZachariasse http://www.twitter.com/OZachariasse


Raymond Louie
Vice-Chair, Metro Vancouver Board of Directors
@RaymondLouie https://twitter.com/RaymondLouie

Closing Remarks / Key Themes and Takeaways

Malcolm Brodie
Chair, Metro Vancouver Zero Waste Committee and Chair, National Zero Waste Council
@malcolmbrodie http://www.twitter.com/malcolmbrodie
@nzwcouncil http://www.twitter.com/nzwcouncil

Robyn Shyllit
Senior Public Consultation Coordinator, City of Toronto (via Toronto Satellite Event)


Vancouver Convention Centre

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s